Dirt Eating

 

The burden
of prayers and curses
flung at open-wide plains
come home to roost,
lacquered upon layers
they hang on me, bind me,
challenge and morph my
persona until I seethe
in my mortality.

I did not ask
for this role. No,
I never volunteered.
But the blood in my
veins was spun long
ago to accept, every
generation a chosen,
every progeny unfailing.

All that is left
to me is to harbor
every cry uttered
until my frame sifts
to dust, and my animus
returns again, enduring.

 

First Published by: Full of Crow
Publication Date – July 24, 2017
Issue # – Spring/Summer 2017
Link to my poem

 

 

About Reality's Bellow

I like to ponder life's eccentricities. I don't really want to explain them or even understand them, just ponder...
This entry was posted in Magic, Speculative and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

